iBarry

About iBarry

Barry is probably the most famous Swiss Saint Bernard. As an avalanche dog, he saved more than 40 lives at the beginning of the 19th century. Today, iBarry offers protection against the dangers of the internet. It provides information and raises awareness about current digital threats, protecting the public from major non-material, technical, and financial damages.

Current campaigns

Deepfakes – Wenn Videobeweise lügen

How we are tricked in the digital world – social engineering and fake news

In our digitally networked world, information is exchanged at unprecedented speed. While this has many benefits, there is also a downside: disinformation and manipulation. This is where fake news and social engineering take centre stage.

Deepfakes – Wenn Videobeweise lügen

How does the new Data Protection Act affect me?

Switzerland’s new Federal Act on Data Protection (Data Protection Act, FADP) entered into force on 1 September 2023. The new FADP now also covers social media. The definition of sensitive data has been expanded, and projects must now take account of data protection already from the outset.

Ransomware

Securing your webseite

Having your own website comes with responsibilities. As the website owner, you should be aware of the risks. Find out what measures keep your website secure and your visitors safe – and how best to proceed in the event of an incident.

Ransomware

Ransomware – when your computer is encrypted

The digital extortion business is booming. Ransomware – a combination of “ransom” and “malware” (malicious software) – is flourishing. Hardly a day goes by without a ransomware incident reported in the news. These reports mention companies, hospitals, organisations – but what about the private sphere? Are private individuals affected by ransomware too?

Advisory Board

The iBarry Advisory Board is composed of experts in the fields of awareness and communication. Their task is to address current topics relating to internet security, preparing them in digestible morsels, and making them accessible to the general public on ibarry.ch.

Members of the iBarry Advisory Board

Marcus Beyer
Security Awareness and Communication Officer, Swisscom

Katja Dörlemann
Awareness Specialist, Switch

Oliver Hirschi
Lecturer, Head of “eBanking – but secure!”, Lucerne School of Computer Science and Information Technology

Dominique Trachsel
Head of Awareness-Raising and Prevention, National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC)

Fabio Di Giovanna
Teamleader Product Management, Touring Club Schweiz (TCS)

Felipe Garcia
Informations- und ICT-Sicherheitsbeauftragter, Stadt Bern

Coen Kaat
Stellvertretender Chefredaktor IT-Markt & SwissCybersecurity.net, Netzmedien AG

Rita Frei
Security Operations Analyst, Sunrise GmbH

Beatrice Kübli
Projektleiterin, Schweizerische Kriminalprävention (SKP)

iBarry

Über iBarry

Barry ist wohl der bekannteste Schweizer Bernhardiner. Als Lawinenhund rettete er zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts über 40 Menschenleben. Heute schützt iBarry vor den Gefahren des Internets und will die Bevölkerung über aktuelle digitale Bedrohungen informieren, aufklären und so vor grösseren ideellen, technischen oder finanziellen Schäden schützen.

Aktuelle Kampagnen

Deepfakes – Wenn Videobeweise lügen

Wie wir in der digitalen Welt getäuscht werden – Social Engineering und Fake News

In unserer digital vernetzten Welt werden Informationen mit beispielloser Geschwindigkeit ausgetauscht. Während dies viele Vorteile mit sich bringt, gibt es auch eine Kehrseite: Desinformation und Manipulation. Hier treten „Fake News“ und „Social Engineering“ ins Rampenlicht.

Deepfakes – Wenn Videobeweise lügen

Wie betrifft mich das neue Datenschutzgesetz?

Die Schweiz hat seit dem 1. September ein neues Datenschutzgesetz (revDSG), welches neu auch die Situation der sozialen Medien berücksichtigt. Der Begriff der schützenswerten Daten wurde ausgeweitet und das Thema Datenschutz muss nun neu immer bereits zu Beginn eines Vorhabens mitberücksichtigt werden. 

Ransomware

Eigene Webseite sichern

Ein eigener Webauftritt bringt Verantwortung mit sich. Als Inhaber*in sollten Sie deshalb die Risiken kennen. Erfahren Sie, welche Massnahmen die Sicherheit Ihrer Website und Ihrer Besucher*innen gewährleisten und wie Sie im Schadensfall am besten vorgehen.

Ransomware

Ransomware – wenn der Rechner  verschlüsselt ist

Das Geschäft mit digitaler Erpressung boomt. Ransomware – ein Wortmix aus «Ransom» = Lösegeld und «ware» von Malware, also bösartige Software, boomt. Es vergeht fast kein Tag, an dem in der aktuellen Tagespresse nicht darüber berichtet wird. Dort liest man von Unternehmen, Spitälern, Organisationen – doch wie schaut das Thema im privaten Umfeld aus? Sind Privatpersonen auch von Ransomware betroffen?

Advisory Board

Das iBarry Advisory Board besteht aus Experten im Bereich Awareness und Kommunikation. Sie haben es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, aktuelle Themen rund um die Internetsicherheit aufzugreifen, verständlich zu formulieren und für die breite Öffentlichkeit auf ibarry.ch zugänglich zu machen.

Mitglieder des iBarry Advisory Board

Marcus Beyer
Security Awareness and Communication Officer, Swisscom

Katja Dörlemann
Awareness Specialist, Switch

Oliver Hirschi
Dozent, Leiter «eBanking – aber sicher!», Hochschule Luzern – Informatik

Dominique Trachsel
Verantwortliche Sensibilisierung und Prävention, National Cyber Security Center (NCSC)

Fabio Di Giovanna
Teamleader Product Management, Touring Club Schweiz (TCS)

Felipe Garcia
Informations- und ICT-Sicherheitsbeauftragter, Stadt Bern

Coen Kaat
Stellvertretender Chefredaktor IT-Markt & SwissCybersecurity.net, Netzmedien AG

Rita Frei
Security Operations Analyst, Sunrise GmbH

Beatrice Kübli
Projektleiterin, Schweizerische Kriminalprävention (SKP)